Long Time, No See!

For most, a new year’s resolution involves exercising more, like once a week, or eating healthy. I myself like to keep things realistic. So I vow to try to keep up with these house renovation projects a bit better this year. In my defense, the end of 2013 was filled with lots of excitement, and writing updates on the reno blog wasn’t a top priority.

The most exciting thing in 2013 was the introduction of our new bundle of joy, Miles.

09-IMG_0263

To get you caught up with whats been happening besides the baby, we finished up the baby’s room in time to welcome Miles in August, and the exterior of the addition was wrapped up just before his arrival. My original plan was to work on the addition during the 2 weeks I was off for paternity leave. Anybody that has ever had a child would have already known that this was a bad idea. I started to lay down the Hardibacker cement board, and in my sleep deprived brain couldn’t work even the most basic of math problems. So before I ruined $100 worth of product I decided to give it up until I could get some rest. 2 months later and I’m making progress. More on that later this week. I promise!

So what about that baby room you might ask? Well, it turned out pretty nice!

We decided to add chair rail to the room to break up the wall color.

Once the room was completed, we started the task of putting together baby furniture. We got our crib from Target, the rocking chair from Wal-Mart, and the credenza that we’re using as a changing table belonged to Sara’s grandmother.

Untitled

Untitled

And the finished room, with all of the decorations looks like this!

babyroom

His closet isn’t the biggest of spaces, but we made good use of what we had. The addition of the rolling cart helps to keep his bath and sleeping supplies organized.

signature

Leave a comment

Filed under Decorating, Furniture, Renovation

Leave a Reply

